24 finalists for AWIEF Awards

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) has announced 24 finalists for its 2023 AWIEF Awards.

Launched in 2017, the prestigious annual AWIEF Awards is an initiative to recognize, honor and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa across various industry sectors for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

An international and independent panel of judges selected the finalists across eight categories.

These outstanding women founders and business leaders operate in a diverse range of sectors and represent companies from 14 different African countries: Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The 2023 AWIEF Awards winners will be announced and celebrated at a special ceremony and gala dinner at the AWIEF2023 Conference and Awards, taking place on 9 and 10 November at the Kigali Convention Centre, Kigali, Rwanda.

AWIEF Founder and CEO, Irene Ochem, said: “Given the huge number and calibre of the nominations received this year, it is clear that female entrepreneurship and business leadership is thriving across Africa.

“It is our honor to recognize and celebrate the achievements and contributions of these women to the inclusive growth of their respective sectors, their countries and the continent’s economy.”

A member of the 2023 AWIEF Awards Panel of Judges, John-Paul Iwuoha, Founder of Smallstarter Africa, said: “As a Judge, I was thoroughly impressed by the quality of applications in all the categories.

“It is great to see how AWIEF continues to attract innovative women across Africa who are creating enormous value for society.”

The finalists for the 2023 AWIEF Awards are:

Young Entrepreneur Award: Salamba Diene, CEO, BIOSENE SARL (Senegal), Joyce Kamande, Co-founder & CEO, Safi Organics (Kenya), Jovia Kisakye, CEO, Sparkle Agro Brand (Uganda).

Tech Entrepreneur Award: Norah Magero, Founder & CEO, Drop Access Limited (Kenya), Kathryn Malherbe, CEO, Med Sol AI Solutions (South Africa), Kidist Tesfaye, Founder & CEO, YeneHealth (Ethiopia).

Agri Entrepreneur Award: Chinwendu Nweke, CEO, Bridge Merchant Enterprise (Nigeria), Forget Shareka, Founder, Chashi Foods (Zimbabwe), Nonopa Tenza, Founder & MD, Kevinot Farming (South Africa).

Energy Entrepreneur Award: Linda Mabhena-Olagunju, Founder & CEO, DLO Energy Resources Group (South Africa), Ifeoma Malo, CEO, Clean Technology Hub (Nigeria), Margaret Yainkain Mansaray, Founder & CEO, Women in Energy Sierra Leone Limited (Sierra Leone).

Creative Industry Award: Yasmina Belahsen, Founder, MayaDigital (Morocco), Gladys Chibanda, Founder & CEO, Krafted Ink (Zimbabwe), Ararat Tamirat, Founder & GM, Tuba By Ararat (Ethiopia).

Social Entrepreneur Award: Damilola Aminat Adeyemi, Co-founder & CEO, D-Olivette Global Enterprise (Nigeria), Kayumba Chiwele, Founder & Principal Psychologist, MindAid Zambia Zambia Mundih Noelar Njohjam, Medical Doctor, Epilepsy Awareness, Aid and Research Association, Cameroon

Empowerment Award: Aya Chebbi, Founder & President, Nalafem Collective, Tunisia Zulfat Mukarubega, Founder, University of Tourism, Technology and Business Studies, Rwanda Catherine Wijnberg, Founder & CEO, Fetola, South Africa

Lifetime Achievement Award: Rina Gunter, Founding Partner, Gunter Attorneys, South Africa Dalia Ibrahim, CEO, Nahdet Misr Publishing House, Egypt Anke Weisheit, Co-founder & Chair, PHARMBIOTRAC, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda